Home > News Room > Press Releases > Delta Charter Township honored as Township of Excellence for second time


Delta Charter Township (Eaton Co.) will be recognized for the second time as a “Township of Excellence” by the Michigan Townships Association (MTA). MTA Executive Director Neil Sheridan will participate in tonight’s township board meeting, via Zoom, to recognize the entire board for the township’s remarkable achievement.

“We commend the Delta Charter Township board for again achieving this high honor—just the second township in the state to do so,” Sheridan said. “The township—including the board, its manager and employees—provides exemplary service and leadership to their community. This is a rigorous, challenging recognition to attain, and demonstrates Delta Charter Township’s enduring commitment to excellence on behalf of their residents.”

The township first achieved the “Township of Excellence” honor in 2015. Townships can apply for the designation after meeting a series of demanding, high-level criteria, as defined by the Association and its members. Delta Charter Township’s recognition is for its achievement in the 2016-2020 township board term. Board members include Supervisor Kenneth Fletcher, Clerk Mary Clark, Treasurer Howard Pizzo, and Trustees Fonda Brewer, Andrea Cascarilla, Dennis Fedewa and Karen Mojica.

“We are pleased to have Delta’s commitment to excellence recognized by the MTA,” Fletcher said. “Our board and employees strive every day to provide our residents with the highest level of professionalism in delivering township services. On behalf of our entire board, thank you, MTA, for this tremendous honor.”

MTA defines a “Township of Excellence” as a strong, vibrant community governed by a township board that adheres to best practices to deliver quality programs and services to accomplish community-driven goals. Delta Charter Township board members and staff have demonstrated a willingness to distinguish the township through consistently meeting the highest standards of policy-driven governance; the board’s commitment to making decisions that are knowledge-based; practicing accountable delegation of responsibilities and evaluation of results; assurances of responsive constituent service; adherence to strong fiscal management; and delivering high-quality township services.