Home > News Room > Press Releases > Bangor Charter Township supervisor joins Michigan Townships Association Board of Directors

Glenn Rowley, who is serving his second term as supervisor of Bangor Charter Township (Bay Co.), has been appointed District 13 director on the Michigan Townships Association (MTA) Board of Directors. The MTA district that Rowley represents encompasses Bay, Gladwin and Midland Counties.

“On behalf of the entire MTA Board of Directors, we are thrilled to welcome Glenn to the Board, and look forward to his contributions to our organization as our state and its local governments lead their communities through the continued challenges, as well as opportunities, and the recovery that lies ahead,” said 2021 MTA President Peter Kleiman, supervisor of Harris Township (Menominee Co.).

Rowley hopes to make a positive impact on the statewide organization serving Michigan’s 1,240 townships, as he has been fortunate to do while serving his own township for the past seven years. “I have always served my community through committees and boards, but my current role allows me to do so as my full-time occupation, and to make a positive difference each and every day to those I serve,” he said. As a member of the MTA Board, “I will effectively share the message of embracing and maximizing the importance of township representation in government,” he said.

In addition to his current role on the township board, Rowley also serves on the township downtown development authority and was a member of the township zoning board of appeals. He has long been dedicated to community service, with leadership roles including vice president of the Bay County Township Officers Association and secretary to its roads committee, vice president of the Bay County Water System Advisory Council and vice chair of the Lead & Copper Testing Advisory Committee. Rowley has also served on the Bay County Chamber of Commerce Gateway Corridor Beautification Committee, vice chair of the Bay Area Water Transmission System, treasurer of the Bay Area Storm Water Authority, and vice chair of Bay City Area Transportation Study Commission.